Banner

Adverse Effect Wage Rates (AEWR)
Last updated February 22, 2021

These are the minimum rates that must be paid to H-2A workers (and workers performing the same jobs as those H-2A workers) in each state.  The rates may vary due to state/local laws and other factors. If you are unsure of the meaning of the guidance from the U.S. Department of Labor, you should consult your H-2A advisor for guidance.

To see the most recent list of rates, view the table from the U.S. Department of Labor.

Here's how to change your AEWR in WAMS...

These steps must be performed before your first payroll after the effective date below  for each WAMS company that employs H-2A workers ...

  1. Open your company
  2. Click the Payroll menu (in the gray bar at the top of the screen)
  3. Click the Payroll Options -> Payroll States menu items
  4. Select your state from the list and then click the Edit button.
  5. Enter your new rate in the Min Adverse Wage box and then click the Save button
  6. Check job rates/minimum rates and update these if needed
  7. Check employee rates/minimum rates and update if needed.
    Note: Employee rates can be batch edited by changing all employees at the old rate to the new rate. If you need assistance performing this batch edit, contact us for assistance!
Adverse Effect Wage Rates by Year
Effective Date
State 2021
2/23/2021
2020
1/1/2020
2019
1/9/2019
Alabama $11.81 $11.71 $11.13
Arizona $13.67 $12.91 $12.00
Arkansas $11.88 $11.83 $11.33
California $16.05 $14.77 $13.92
Colorado $14.82 $14.26 $13.13
Connecticut $14.99 $14.29 $13.25
Delaware $14.05 $13.34 $13.15
Florida $12.08 $11.71 $11.24
Georgia $11.81 $11.71 $11.13
Hawaii $15.56 $14.90 $14.73
Idaho $14.55 $13.62 $13.48
Illinois $15.31 $14.52 $13.26
Indiana $15.31 $14.52 $13.26
Iowa $15.37 $14.58 $13.34
Kansas $15.89 $14.99 $14.38
Kentucky $12.96 $12.40 $11.63
Louisiana $11.88 $11.83 $11.33
Maine $14.99 $14.29 $13.25
Maryland $14.05 $13.34 $13.15
Massachusetts $14.99 $14.29 $13.25
Michigan $14.72 $14.40 $13.54
Minnesota $14.72 $14.40 $13.54
Mississippi $11.88 $11.83 $11.33
Missouri $15.37 $14.58 $13.34
Montana $14.55 $13.62 $13.48
Nebraska $15.89 $14.99 $14.38
Nevada $14.82 $14.26 $13.13
New Hampshire $14.99 $14.29 $13.25
New Jersey $14.05 $13.34 $13.15
New Mexico $13.67 $12.91 $12.00
New York $14.99 $14.29 $13.25
North Carolina $13.15 $12.67 $12.25
North Dakota $15.89 $14.99 $14.38
Ohio $15.31 $14.52 $13.26
Oklahoma $13.03 $12.67 $12.23
Oregon $16.34 $15.83 $15.03
Pennsylvania $14.05 $13.34 $13.15
Rhode Island $14.99 $14.29 $13.25
South Carolina $11.81 $11.71 $11.13
South Dakota $15.89 $14.99 $14.38
Tennessee $12.96 $12.40 $11.63
Texas $13.03 $12.67 $12.23
Utah $14.82 $14.26 $13.13
Vermont $14.99 $14.29 $13.25
Virginia $13.15 $12.67 $12.25
Washington $16.34 $15.83 $15.03
West Virginia $12.96 $12.40 $11.63
Wisconsin $14.72 $14.40 $13.54
Wyoming $14.55 $13.62 $13.48